The world of Testing.


Lately I’ve been trying to take advantage of my time off the road to do test shoots like crazy!  For those of you who are wondering what that is,  let me break down the world I live in a bit.  A test shoot is where myself,  a photographer, models, and sometimes a stylist collaborate on a shoot together.  Sometimes I even recruit a separate hair person, so all my focus goes to my first love: makeup.  No one gets paid, but everyone gets awesome images for their portfolios(aka books).  Awesome portfolio=paid jobs 🙂  It’s a great way to always stay on your toes creatively and try new things in an industry that is constantly on to the next trend.  Think of it like practice!  It’s also a great way to develop relationships with people in the industry while keeping your book from getting dated. We spend time brainstorming shoot ideas and thinking of concepts we’d like to see in our own books.  Anywho, I’m sorting through some images from recent tests and here are a few that are my current faves.  As I do more shoots, and receive more images…I’ll continue to share.  (Makeup and Hair by me in all images.  First 3 images shot by A.L. Canterbury and the rest by TL Pascoe)

This is the amazing Nikki. I got ahold of her just before she started jetsetting around the world to different agencies that wanted her! She will definitely be one to watch!

Channeling Jackie O

Love this image! I was so proud of this hairdo. My first attempt at anything like this.

This picture is just too adorable for words.

A very nice man let us hijack is truck randomly on the street in Venice (molly & Nick)

 

Beachy.

Jud and Anna

7 Responses to “The world of Testing.”


  1. 1 Mandy Garner January 21, 2011 at 2:57 am

    Ashley,
    You are so talented! I can’t wait to see more. We could have used you at Sundance this year!

  2. 2 Selena January 21, 2011 at 2:58 am

    Ah, sounds like your mad makeup/hairstyling skills have led your career to another interesting avenue! Way to go, Ash! Hmm…seeing as they’re “test” shots, I’ll give your work an “A” 😉 Nicely done!

  3. 3 ashes2lashes January 21, 2011 at 3:03 am

    Thanks guys!! Glad I made an A!

  4. 4 Erin January 21, 2011 at 3:11 am

    Gorgeoussss! And your hair and make up looks awesome too!! Helloooooo Nick

  5. 5 Mary b January 21, 2011 at 3:45 am

    I’m a big animal lover so my fave is the one the adorable pooch!!

    Nowhere how hard i try my makeup never looks that Polished : (

    Oh well obviously make up isn’t my thing, nailpolish on the other is so much fun to play around with : )

    I’ve been Gettin fancy with it lol ; )

  6. 6 SarahLee23 January 21, 2011 at 6:56 pm

    Beautiful work, Ash!! I LOVE the Jackie O look – so elegant and pretty!!!! Can’t to see more of your portfolio! 😀

    Hugs,
    Sarah

  7. 7 Rose January 22, 2011 at 4:35 am

    Ashley, All your work is beautiful. My favorites are the first three, in particular the first one, which is just stunning. Very Bardot like! Your passion for make-up shows through in all photos.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 84 other followers

ashes2lashes on twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


