I Want to Be a Tall Tree


Hey guys, so I know I usually stick to makeup blogs…but I thought I’d share some personal writing with you instead today. I sort of have a love affair with trees. They have become a symbol of many things for me. The tree has become a bit of a life mantra for me over the last few years. People always ask me why I got my tattoo or what it means…well I wrote this poem about a tree as a way to parallel what kind of person I want to be in life. Which then inspired the tattoo as a daily reminder 🙂 hope you like it, as this is the first time I’ve publicly shared my writing. Be gentle 😉

I Want to Be a Tall Tree

I want to be a tall tree…
grounded by roots that deeply run
beneath the shade of
branches stretching for the sun

I want to be a tall tree…
bending with the blowing winds;
surviving the storm as
a shelter to the nests within

I want to be a tall tree…
leaves dying in the cold.
colors changing with the seasons
as new blossoms replace the old.

I want to be a tall tree…
solid.
strong.
vulnerable.
beautiful.

10 Responses to “I Want to Be a Tall Tree”


  1. 1 SarahLee23 August 13, 2010 at 9:39 pm

    I love it, Ashley! I love trees as well. I had to dig through my old blog, but I knew I had written something in regards to trees, too. I wanted to share what I wrote with you, too. 😉

    Not even the trees

    Not even the trees know
    what kind of storms
    may come their way
    there can be sunny days
    or violent storms
    perhaps a gentle breeze
    that pours through its branches
    its roots are planted firmly
    in the ground
    steady footing
    unwavering
    strong and growing tall
    every day

    Hugs,
    Sarah

  2. 2 Selena August 13, 2010 at 9:57 pm

    Ah, another aspect of your creativity! I remember you explaining the tattoo’s connection with your poem before, and thought it would be interesting to read, so thanks for satisfying that curiosity! That being said, I liked it. It’s meaningful and the metaphor worked quite nicely. Shall I now dub you Ashley “Ash Tree” Donovan? 😉

  3. 3 Emmjay2662 August 13, 2010 at 10:11 pm

    Hooray for poetry and for the love of trees and their special place in nature.

    I bet you guys must both be fans of Shel Silverstein’s The Giving Tree, too.

    I also love the metaphor of a tree having value far greater than its physical, material relevance. There is so much spiritual meaning to what a tree provides us with.

    What an awesome mantra to live by!!!

  4. 4 Emmjay2662 August 13, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    A link to the text of The Giving Tree…

    http://oldpoetry.com/opoem/60911-Sheldon-Allan-Silverstein-The-Giving-Tree

    If I am ever brave enough to share my writing in any public capacity, I will post my own tree poem here. In the meanwhile, what could be better than the master?

  5. 5 NutFan August 14, 2010 at 12:15 am

    I remember one of my favorite poems as a kid (and a new favorite with me again now, thanks to this post, which reminded me) came from this kid’s book of poems, and it was the shortest poem in the entire book, but the authors devoted an entire page to it, and they drew a ginormous oak tree that spread over into the other page of the book with a little kid standing next to the oak tree with an ax looking up dauntingly at the big oak, and it went…

    Little strokes
    Fell great oaks.

    LOL

    So this was, and is now once again, my favorite poem (I’m lazy and apparently always have been, so of course my favorite poem to memorize is the world’s shortest poem), that is, until just recently, when Jessie McNamara tweeted another poem about oaks that has now tied for first place with me…

    JessieMcNamara

    i like this: “Today’s mighty oak is just yesterday’s nut that held its ground” 1:56 PM Jun 21st via web

    So I figure with just these two little oak poems, I am pretty darn close to having all of life completely figured out. Like, just be an oak at certain times and take down an oak at other times. Now I just need a third poem that tells me exactly when to be one or the other, and I’m all set, like, completely unlocked the secrets of the universe! So close! 🙂

  6. 6 NutFan August 14, 2010 at 12:34 am

    Found it. Here it is the poem I was talking about…

    Illustrated Poems for Children, Illustrated by Krystyna Orska, Hubbard Press, 1973, Page 24:

    http://tweetphoto.com/38773051

  7. 7 NutFan August 14, 2010 at 12:53 am

    PS — Loved the poem and the other one posted here. They are way too long for my style (j/k) :), and obviously uber-inspiring, so okay. These poems achieved one of the most important functions of a poem in life (inspiration), so much appreciated. Kudos.

  8. 8 randy August 14, 2010 at 1:03 am

    Nice poem! And you would be a beautiful tree.
    Take Care

  9. 9 NutFan August 14, 2010 at 1:06 am

    Gawd, really wish they had an edit option for these posts, but I think I meant to say the tree is sort of looking down dauntingly at the kid, not the kid looking up dauntingly at the tree. Sorry — just anal when it comes to words sometimes, but I think I am in a comfortable place to do it here, given the nature of the blog. Last comment from me. Promise. For this blog. LOL

  10. 10 gypsygies August 14, 2010 at 5:46 am

    Thank you for sharing, it’s beautiful. I have always considered trees as the great veins of the earth reaching up and spreading like capillaries to keep the life of this beautiful Mother circulating. I am awed by them and their majesty. Each and every one, in its own way. Like humans. Each and every one, in our own way. Majestic and beautiful and awe-inspiring is this being called Nature. And we all belong to it.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 84 other followers

ashes2lashes on twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


