Dripping in Silver and Gold


So this past weekend was a complete whirlwind for me in Nashville!  It included going to a show straight from the airport, a 4th of July party with lots of friends, and a 2 day photoshoot extravaganza with  Jill and Kate!  They are working on their next album and wanted to do a shoot to go along with the new material.  We were completely exhausted after 2 days of shooting, but they were kind enough to let me unleash some creativity at the end of the last day.  So sometime around midnight I decided I wanted to transform them into silver and gold shiny sticky fake lash high fashiony goodness.  I mixed some pigments with actual honey and dripped it down their faces!  They were troopers! 🙂  I can’t wait to see the official photos shot by the photographer, Todd, but here are a couple I snapped with my  camera.  I hope they excite you as much as they excite me!  Enjoy

8 Responses to “Dripping in Silver and Gold”


  1. 1 Danielle July 7, 2010 at 12:11 am

    So you tried the body painting thing out then haha. It looks cool. Way cooler than the pic you tweeted a while ago, because that was just plain odd haha. The gold will forever remind me of Rihanna’s Umbrella video. I think i’m actually mentally scarred from the amount of body paint used in that video haha.

    Good on J&K for letting you use them as your models. They’re a.w.e.s.o.m.e.! Can’t wait to see the pics either.

    Another fine Donovan masterpiece I believe 🙂

  2. 2 Steph July 7, 2010 at 12:49 am

    OMG! Haha, was totally not expecting that look on J&K, but how cool! They look like glam rockers. I bet it was fun for all of you to play with. Cleaning up the honey, on the other hand…eh, I’m sure it was worth it.

    Even in these and the snapshots on their blog, the girls look great! Nice work! Can’t wait to see how the rest of the photoshoot turned out 😉

  3. 3 Jennifer July 7, 2010 at 12:55 am

    I love the Gold on Kate …. Jill looks a little scary, it would be intersting if she was smiling …. Great art… and your I phone does take great photos.. again good work behind the camera as well.. Jen

  4. 4 Selena July 7, 2010 at 1:16 am

    Well, you finally got to explore your interest in body paint a bit, and with some cool subjects, so I’m sure you had fun with that! The concept reminds me of something they might do on America’s Next Top Model! Haha! Thanks for sharing the snaps! 🙂

  5. 5 GoldAndSilverFan July 7, 2010 at 1:31 am

    The duo picture on the left comes sooooo close to being a double-Mona-Lisa look, meaning both Jill and Kate both have a classic Mona Lisa “smile” (i.e., is she or isn’t she smiling?) together in one great picture. Jill has it completely, and Kate has the mouth for it, but she needs the eyes from the picture in the middle. Damn. Photoshop anyone? LOL

  6. 6 Pam July 7, 2010 at 3:57 am

    someone already mentioned the comment I had to make about the “Umbrella” video, but I love it! also, I think the fact that the glitter isn’t splattered proportionally makes it look even cooler. 🙂

  7. 7 Elle July 7, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    Amazing pictures!!

    Kate looks like AJ Cook in her photo and Jill looks like Sasha Alexander… hmm can we expect them in their own crime show with you helping them go undercover with awesome make overs?

    In other words I love it, you’re too dang creative, Ashley!

  8. 8 Regine July 12, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    You took a pretty simple theme and made it pretty fab. First of all, honey? Wow, would never have thought of using that as a medium for make-up, but it works! Secondly, I love that the gold brings out Kate’s eyes, and the silver brings out Jill’s. Awesome 🙂


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 84 other followers

ashes2lashes on twitter!


