finally feeling inspired :)


So I know I’ve been completely slacking in the blog department these days, and I apologize.  I must be completely honest with you guys…lately I’ve just been feeling a little uninspired in the creative department.  It happens now and again with artists of any kind.  Thanks in advance for your patience 🙂  I’ve just never been good at presenting anything I’m not completely in love with, including little ol’ blogs, ha.  I want each one of my blogs to feel inspired and never be half hearted.  Like they say…”quality not quantity”

With that said…I finally felt inspired today.  Yes folks, Stella got her groove back! 😉  I’m currently on tour in Australia.  It is by far one of my favorite places on the planet.  Which is probably another reason I’ve been slacking…I’m completely distracted by how much I love this place.  I’ve been spending all my free time wandering the cities, trying to absorb as much of it as I can in what little time I have.  Today was a show day in Melbourne.  I spent the morning and early afternoon walking around and purposely getting lost in the streets.  I stumbled upon Hosier Lane, an alley where everything is covered in graffiti and street art, including the trash bins.  It was incredible. I was like a kid in a candy color store walking through the aftermath of a crayola explosion!  I have a secret affinity for street art after discovering the French artist Fafi several years ago.  I just love the contrast and pop of all the vibrant colors. So long story short, I found myself subconsciously dipping my brush into similar colors tonight.  Here are some photos of my inspiration and my work.  (Feel free to enjoy the photos, but please don’t post anywhere else..thx)

21 Responses to “finally feeling inspired :)”


  1. 1 Linda April 19, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    Wow! That street art graffiti is so cool. I would never dream to do that to my eyes, but it looks beautiful on KC. I love the pic in the bottom right corner. Thanks Ash, and I’m glad your enjoying your time in Aussie, sounds like a great place.

  2. 2 cookbooklady April 19, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    Oh I like it! Glad your groove is back ~ it’s good to hear from you again!

  3. 3 carolfritz April 19, 2010 at 4:05 pm

    That’s so fabulous! I wish every alley in the world looked like that. The eyes definitely wow! You’re such an arteest! 😉

  4. 4 Kirsty April 19, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    Wow that is krazykool! 🙂 I love those two colours together, would never have the nerve to try that though, although I do usually wear a couple different shades of purple or purple and an orangy gold, because I learnt purples are good to show of green eyes.

    Its so cool how you really showed what colours and styles you seen on the walls and bins and expressed it on eyes haha!

    Beautiful! 🙂

  5. 5 crystal April 19, 2010 at 4:17 pm

    i know how you feel with the inspiration struggles. sometimes, i feel so stuck in my art classes. glad you found something to inspire you! i love the graffiti look! have some fun for me over there! it looks awesome! 🙂

  6. 6 April April 19, 2010 at 4:21 pm

    Amazing colors Ash!! You are truly inspirational and one of the most creative people I know:) Miss you bunches!!
    Love ya!
    April

  7. 9 Selena April 19, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    “I was like a kid in a candy color store walking through the aftermath of a crayola explosion!”

    ^Haha, nice visual! I’m glad you found some inspiration on your travels. The street graffiti is cool and your own artwork looks quite nice on that lovely subject of yours! 🙂

  8. 10 Jennifer April 19, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    Awesome, gotta say I love Graffiti art ever since summer 07, I went to work at a summer camp in the USA and one of my co-counselors loved graffiti art, she was more into Banksy and 3D Graffiti but still loved all graffiti.

    Love the eye makeup work though, will have to give that a try.

  9. 11 danielle1414 April 19, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    Sooo summery looking, it’s awesome. I couldnt even attempt to do that. Love the photo’s too, got some handy photography skills up your sleeve too by the looks of things haha 🙂

    Hopefully, other places you visit soon will inspire you for more awesome bloggage 😉 haha

  10. 12 Elena April 19, 2010 at 5:16 pm

    What a fun part of Australia. Glad you are feeling it.

  11. 13 jennifer l April 19, 2010 at 5:37 pm

    Wow very nice ….. love it ………. by the way your photography skills arent bad either……

  12. 14 Jaclyn April 19, 2010 at 6:19 pm

    That looks pretty awesome….I might actually try something like that for our post-finals party next week…it won’t look near as good (I am nowhere near the artist you are or as beautiful as KC is, haha), but I guess it can’t hurt to try. I just hope the boldness doesn’t make me chicken out.

  13. 15 hillary April 19, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    Nice work Ashley! I love reading your quality blogs 🙂

  14. 16 gypsygies April 19, 2010 at 6:37 pm

    I’m right there with ya on the street art love. Part of the amazingness of a true artist though – is to *let* yourself be inspired by something…Anything…and translate that into your own work. You did a fantastic job – Kelly’s eyes look beautiful! Also a great job of the picture-taking – shows off the work well.

  15. 17 Kelly April 19, 2010 at 10:10 pm

    Beautiful work! And the photographs of KC are beautiful! U have a beautiful canvus to work with!! U have inspired me to change my makeup style! And I have had lots of compliments!! Keep up the awesome work! U ROCK!!
    ~*Kelly*~

  16. 18 Emmjay2662 April 20, 2010 at 6:01 am

    Dear Ashes2Lashes,

    Makeup is one of my least favorite topics, but your blog is one of my MOST favorite blogs.

    A personal thanks for infusing a somewhat intimidating topic with so much humor and warmth and FUN!!!! @ashes2lashes FTW!!!

    On the artistic front, I think you captured the street graffiti influence quite nicely and that the hair speaks of the Australian Outback. I’m no Matt Lauer, and I didn’t just get back from vacation either, but “It’s a hot new look!”

    Best Regards!

  17. 19 Monica April 21, 2010 at 1:15 am

    Did you know you have a gift? My God you are amazing, your work is perfect, i wish i could make up like that on myself, at least i do what i can hahaha, i’m not to good, not too bad neither, you really do a more than a perfect work, on peoples face.
    And let KC’s face perfect

    CONGRATULATIONS 🙂

  18. 20 Elaine April 22, 2010 at 2:00 pm

    Your post got me all inspired 🙂 Here’s an ‘Ashes2Lashes’ Fafi-inspired banner 🙂

    http://neale.deviantart.com/art/Ashes2Lashes-banner-161583118

    Hope you like it.

  19. 21 kay April 29, 2010 at 12:13 am

    i’m in love with your blog. i’ve always been the go-to make-up girl and had never quite perfected the smoky eye— thanks for the vlog! i’m doing make-up for a bunch of high school girls for prom and will be doing smokey eyes like it’s my job! 🙂

    a few things—
    1. your tip on the shimmer strips was life changing. spending 10 bucks is a stretch for me, but i’ll never use another bronzer… it’s the best.

    2. have you tried the original lashblast with the one for length? amazing combo for night/smoky looks.

    3. any tips on under eye concealing? always the area i have issues with!

    4. what about lips? what are your favorite glosses and colors? i love shine but it’s hard to maintain good color.

    keep up the blog—i enjoy it and your tweets! i love that being a fan of an artist has introduced me to so many more artists.

    <3!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 84 other followers


