Feeling Beautiful Doesn’t Equal Being Rich!


Don’t get me wrong, I love the allure of getting lost in the luxurious products calling my name from a department store every time I enter a mall…however; I get just as excited when I hit the jackpot in the drug store cosmetic aisles.  I think that stems from my mother who was never one to miss an amazing deal! I spent my childhood dressed in clearance rack finds and layaway treasures.  Drug stores are filled with great products and sales that would never happen in a department store.  I’ve compiled a list of 10 current favorite bargain products in no particular order.  Bargains are treasures waiting to be discovered.  I am Ponce de Leon and this is my beauty gold. 🙂

Physician’s Formula Shimmer Strips:  A great multipurpose bronzer with high shimmer!  Blend all colors together for a great bronze glow, use lighter colors for highlighting brow and cheekbones, or use individually as eyeshadows.  That’s at least 3 products in one 🙂 This brand is hypoallergenic, non comedogenic, and fragrance free.

Neutrogena Makeup Remover Cleansing Towelettes:  These gems are a permanent resident in my makeup kit.  They are a great, quick way to remove makeup, including eye makeup!  They don’t require any rinsing, which makes them great for on the go.

Neutrogena Make-up Remover Cleansing Towelettes Refill Pack

Covergirl & Olay Simply Ageless Foundation:  this is a new find for me, and I use it personally.  I love the silky feeling of it  gliding onto my skin.  Great blendable coverage, doesn’t feel heavy, and seems to last all day!  Contains sunscreen as well which is always a plus.  It’s marketed as anti-aging product, but in my opinion would be versatile on most ages.  I’m only 27.  Try getting your sponge damp to avoid the sponge “eating” all your product.

Cover Girl and Olay's Simply Ageless Foundation

HiP Studio Secrets Pro Color Chrome Eyeliner in Silver Lightning:  I love this pencil of creamy metallic goodness.  Glides on with ease like a pencil, but with the intense color of a liquid.  Long lasting and  mostly smudge proof.  Add some metal to your life.  Also comes in other great shades, but this one is my fave.

Boots Expert Sensitive Hydrating Moisturizer:  a great simple moisturizer.  nice, non greasy, creamy texture, but quickly absorbs into skin leaving it hydrated.  Great for most skin types that feel like they need some hydration put back into their skin.  Blends well with sunscreens.

Sensitive Hydrating Moisturizer

Dr Bronner’s Magic Soaps:  These are incredible organic liquid soaps!  The bottle boasts up to 18 uses!  I love the tingle of the peppermint to get me going in the morning, and the lavender one to relax me in the evening.  They also lists uses such as shampoo, laundry, household cleaning, and even safe to brush teeth!  (may have to try that and get back to you)  They are completely biodegradable and veggie based.  They might not get crazy suds like you are used to, but that is a good thing.  They don’t contain any harsh sulfates, which are in most  “sudsy” products.  Instead you get natural lather from the coconut oils.  All of these things are better for your skin, hair, and environment 🙂

Covergirl Lashblast Waterproof Mascara:  I swear by the belief that some of the best mascaras are the affordable ones.  I grew up watching my mom use her classic pink tube of Maybelline mascara, a mascara that has withstood the test of time.  A newer mascara that has caught my eye, and quickly becoming my personal go-to is Lashblast.  It seems to make my lashes longer and fuller and awesome.  I personally use waterproof because it seems to hold the curl from the curler much better.  I, unfortunately was not blessed with any natural curl to my lashes.  I personally follow the curl first rule. Just be careful to not curl lashes after waterproof mascara has dried, as it can become brittle and cause lashes to break.  Lashblast has a great brush also.  Ok enough mascara rambling…on to the next product.

Soap & Glory Marvelips!:  This double ended crayon helps give you that sexy playboy style pout.  The color is universally flattering to most skin types.  The color side is used to fill in your shape, while the shimmer end is used to accentuate your pout.  Try applying the shimmer only in the center of your lips to create a 3D look.  Moisturizing, but not sticky like a gloss.  Also has a slight chocolate smell/taste in my opinion.

Sonia Kashuk Blending Sponge:  These oddly shaped sponges are pretty much all I use these days.  Easy to hold, and contoured as your face is. The original pink Beauty Blenders are amazing as well, but these are about half the price.  They are reusable for awhile, but just be sure to wash them after use to prevent bacteria build up.  Maybe I will start using my Dr. Bronner’s soaps from above to start cleaning them 🙂  I like using the sponge damp for more product control and to prevent the sponge from soaking up too much foundation. Small end works great for around the eyes and nose.  Enjoy! (contains latex, so beware if you are allergic)

Duo Eyelash Adhesive Dark Tone:  This is the only glue I use to apply false eyelash strips.  It’s waterproof, so it stays in place.  I like the dark tone, because it dries black…making it easy to blend into lashes and liner.  A little tip on applying falsies:  cut the lash strip to fit the size of your eye. (sometimes this leaves you with a whole other set of lashes to use later!) apply glue directly to false lashes, BUT allow it to dry a bit and become tacky before putting them on your lashline.  This is key to help prevent them from sliding around!  Getting them as close to your natural lashline makes them appear more real.  I sometimes use the handle end of my tweezers to press them in.  Good luck!

Duo Eyelash Adhesive, Dark Tone

So there you have it!  My first official beauty related blog and my current drugstore faves.  Hope you enjoyed it!

~Ashley

24 Responses to “Feeling Beautiful Doesn’t Equal Being Rich!”


  1. 1 Linda February 28, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    This is great. There are going to be so many good looking chicks at KC shows from now on, ha. 😉

    Thanks Ashley, I’m always lost when it comes to buying this stuff, especially because I don’t know how to apply it, or what everything really does, but this blog, and your little tidbits on twitter have already helped me. 😀

  2. 2 crystal February 28, 2010 at 5:15 pm

    thanks ashley! 🙂 i’m looking forward to the little bit of help i can get from you! you do an amazing job!

  3. 3 cookbooklady February 28, 2010 at 5:15 pm

    Yay! I was hoping you’d do a blog! Can’t wait to try the false eyelash thing ~ my past results have been tragic, haha. I’ve never heard of some of the Marvel Lips, Dr. Bronner’s, etc. ~ where can we find these products? Looking forward to more posts!

  4. 4 anakellya February 28, 2010 at 5:23 pm

    i go for the bargain’s too, nice to know i’m not the only one! & shame i just got back from boots, to find you’d posted this! haha. next time, i’ll be on the look out for all of these! 🙂
    xxx

  5. 5 Jennifer February 28, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    Soap and Glory stuff = ❤ their hand cream is the best stuff ever!

    At the moment I am in love with Anatomicals stuff their "Stop cracking up" lipbalm and "no bags allowed" eye cream. The names of the products just add to the amazingness of them!

    I miss Covergirl makeup, I bought Mascara and Concealer while I was staying in the USA for a few months and was really impressed with it!

    Will check out the other products you suggested, thanks for the tips.

  6. 6 Jennifer February 28, 2010 at 5:30 pm

    Edit: Sorry name of the eye cream is “no old bags allowed”

  7. 7 lauren February 28, 2010 at 5:35 pm

    You officially rock. I love make up but find it always takes a backseat because of cost. Thank you for this!

  8. 8 carolfritz February 28, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    Awesome tips!
    I have a horribleee habit of falling asleep without taking my makeup off, but the Neutrogena towelettes work wonders!

  9. 9 Jemma February 28, 2010 at 6:04 pm

    WOW, cannot wait for more blogs! You are becoming my most favorite person ever!

    Can’t wait to try some of these out =)

  10. 10 Elisabeth1011 February 28, 2010 at 6:28 pm

    Im gonna try Pouty Lips – Ashley style! Yes!

    Will let you know how it worked out, see if i get hit on LOL. If not, I’ll try the mustache thing! :p

  11. 11 Skye February 28, 2010 at 7:14 pm

    Thank you so much for the suggestions. This is the type of blog I need. Would you consider doing a video blog on how to put on eye shadow to make your eyes pop 🙂 Thank you so much.

    Cheers!

  12. 12 Lindsay February 28, 2010 at 7:52 pm

    I’ve pretty much relied on the PF shimmer strips; def a staple for me!

    Also, I’ve been in search of a great mascara (used to use MAC, but it ran too much and am currently using Loreal Bare Naturale–best I’ve found SO far).

    Thanks for the great suggestions! Look forward to more!

  13. 13 Elaine February 28, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    Very cool list of tips. I’m an absolute eejit when it comes to make-up so I’m rarely in the know as to what’s good. My lil’ sis’ is the fashion/make-up guru and since I don’t live at home anymore, your blog’s gonna fill in the blanks. Thanks :). Hope you’re enjoying Europe

  14. 14 Lucy February 28, 2010 at 8:41 pm

    Great blog, Ashley. I’ll definitely be on the look-out for these bargains 🙂

  15. 15 carol February 28, 2010 at 9:26 pm

    Ashley this is great I am a little older than you are. This info is going to say me a ton of money thanks so much, can’t wait to go an try some stuff out.

  16. 16 Sue March 2, 2010 at 12:53 am

    Not many are willing to share their gold, so I thank you for taking the time to write details and show pictures of products that can be found in the drug store or Target aisle. Who knew? Not me.

    It’s one more way I can save money and still look and feel good. Truly, it’s the best, free, professional advice I have received in awhile. I hope you will share more of your gold in the future.

  17. 17 HB March 2, 2010 at 5:08 am

    Nice, thanks for this. I already use some of these things (the neutrogena towelettes and covergirl ageless foundation but my hip silver eyeliner is one of my favorite things in the world, ha!)

    Gonna try some of the other stuff out, for sure the Shimmer Strips, dr. brommer’s soap and those wacky looking sponges. 🙂

    Your tips and twidbits are helpful, glad you’re doing this.

  18. 18 cookbooklady March 2, 2010 at 5:12 am

    Okydoky ~

    I bought two little bottles of Dr. Bronner’s soaps at Sunflower Market today ~ the peppermint and lavender as you suggested. I used the mint as a body wash (LOVED IT!)and tried the lavender as a shampoo (hmm, not so much, washed it out, LOL) The lavender will be awesome though after my nights at The Pit. Yay! Thanks for the suggestion!

  19. 19 Sandy Penney March 2, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    after 40 years of wearing makeup this is the best I’ve found yet. Glad you concur!
    Covergirl & Olay Simply Ageless Foundation

  20. 20 Sandy Penney March 2, 2010 at 4:42 pm

    p.s. about that Covergirl & Olay foundation. I just use my fingers to apply it. It goes WAY further that way.

  21. 21 sandra March 2, 2010 at 5:59 pm

    yay! youre such a talented girl, ashley. thanks for sharing all the stuff with us! though it might be hard getting these products in germany. sadness haha. well youre in germany atm right? maybe you can try out some german stuff hahaha. either way, thanks and keep it up!

  22. 22 jess March 2, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    hey ashley! thanks so much for this blog and your twitter acc with all the tips. it’s awesome to be able to learn something from such a talented person like you!
    maybe you can post a video someday, with you in action? like doing the makeup for kelly, kate or someone else? I’d love to see how you actually really put the makeup and stuff on!

    love,
    jess :-))))

  23. 23 Rebecca March 28, 2010 at 10:40 am

    After reading your recommendations I went out and bought the new olay & covergirl simply ageless foundation. It is the best foundation I have ever used! so easy to apply and it makes my skin look great! Thank you Ashley.

    The neutrogena make up remover wipes are my favourite (I’ve tried so many) They remove every bit of make up and leave your skin feeling soft and hydrated.

  24. 24 blondannas May 4, 2010 at 12:20 am

    Love your comments about drugstore finds. I love Olay! It has the best moisturizers and cleansers. I tried all of the expensive products and Regenerist is the best of all. Also love all of the other ideas. Will look forward to following you in the future.
    Ann


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 84 other followers

ashes2lashes on twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


